Winners of the 2018 provincial festival

Here is a list of the 2018 provincial drama festival awards:

Scholarship – DA Matthews, Ellie King, School Zone Productions of St. John’s

Thompson Trophy for best actor under 21: Ellie King, School Zone

Reg Harte for best supporting actor: James Leblanc, St. John’s Players

Oz-fm for best sound: Ann Devlin, Graham Dillabough and Scott French, School Zone

Hans Tode for best set design: St. John’s Players

Harvey Rose Bowl for best visual presentation: The Twilight Zone

Allan R. Hillier for best costumes: Mark Brady and Toshon Dawe, Off-Broadway of Corner Brook

Elizabeth Ireland for best properties: Julie Ferrero, Northcliffe Drama Club of Grand Falls-Windsor

Chrissy Andrews for best actress: Rhonda Rodgers, Northcliffe

Sarah McDonald Award for best supporting actress: Lynn Sooley, Avion Players of Gander

Hon. Chairman’s Award for best actor: Scott Simms, Northcliffe

Allan Power Memorial for best lighting: School Zone Productions

Stage Manager’s Award: Jeannie Collins, Avion

Neala F. Griffin for best direction: Mark Bradbury, Off-Broadway

Newfoundland Herald Audience Appreciation: Off-Broadway and St. John’s Players

Margaret Doyle for spirit of festival: Arts and Culture Centre technical crew

Government of NL for best play: “Dinner with Friends,” Northcliffe Drama Club

St. John’s winners from School Zone Productions and the St. John’s Players included, front, from left: Cam Stapleton, Ellie King, Frankie O’Neill, Ann Devlin; second row, Deanna Skidmore (accepting on behalf of Jamie Skidmore), James Leblanc and Graham Dillabough; back, Louise Kearley, Fabian O’Keefe and Scott French.


Mark Bradbury and Toshon Dawe were winners from Corner Brook’s Off-Broadway Players.


Gander’s Nick Mercer (accepting on behalf of Jeannie Collins) and Lynn Sooley.